Trotting the rooftops of Lecce

Trotting the rooftops of Lecce

I love Assassin’s Creed. I love parkour.  Parkour is running and jumping and flipping in an orderly fashion over objects, and cities are good for that. Italian cities are really good for that sort of thing because the buildings are close together.

I sort of love history. In Assassin’s Creed, the ‘Assassins’ fight the ‘Templars‘. In the game, the Templars are trying to take over the world in order to have ‘peace’. So it was interesting when we went to Lecce and thought we saw an actual Templar lodge.

Gate to the Templar lodge

Gate to the lodge in Lecce

Close-up

Close-up

There was a gate in front of the building, with some graffiti on it, and five red crosses that mark the Ordine Equestre del Santo Sepolcro di Gerusalemme (Equestrian Order of the Holy Sepulchre of Jerusalem).

This was the HQ for a military order that started in 1099 during the First Crusade (the one when they captured Jerusalem). They came before the Templars by about 20 years. They were just another group of knights running around with the Templars during the Crusades. And they don’t seem to be evil.

image

It was easy peasy

The Knights’ club house was located near a house museum, Museo Faggiano, which was really cool. There were stairs and passages everywhere, and like eight different levels of stuff, from the roof to underground. The pictures of me on the roof are from there.

Secret passages in the basement

Secret passages in the basement of the Faggiano

After that we visited the Castle of Acaya, close to our hotel.

Castello of Acaya

Castello of Acaya

I could jump around on the roof there too.

Stalking the castle roof

Stalking the castle roof at dusk

They had some interesting domed rooms underneath where there was a perfect echo.

Under the castle

Lots of echoey rooms under the castle

Even if they weren’t really Templars, someone was advertising that they could make really good pizza; ‘legendary’ pizza, in fact:

image

Last weekend we went on a secret passages tour of the Palazzo Vecchio in Florence. Here are me and my friends next to the Hall of Maps. I had a wonderful time seeing my friends; I was sad to see when they went home.

Simon H., Lincoln, and me in the Palazzo Vecchio

Simon H., Lincoln, and me in the Palazzo Vecchio