Dirt!

Dirt!

On Monday my soccer team had a friendly against the Ventinella soccer team from near Lake Trasimeno.  My coach wanted me to play defense even though I had never played there before.  It was a new experience for me because defense was new and it was an all dirt field.  It was a good game even though our team lost 4-2.  I actually played pretty well on defense and I even cleared a ball off the line.  I worked well with the other central defender because he’s short and stocky and I’m tall and lanky so it was kind of like a yin-yang sort of thing.  The first half was pretty even but in the second half we took out some of our better players and the other team brought in three huge kids who were really hard to defend so they started to dominate.  In the video one word that you’ll hear a lot is dai and this literally means “give it” but we haven’t quite figured out what it means in soccer.  I just wanted you to know that our coach wasn’t trying to kill us.

My dad made this video. You can blame him for posting it and adding ridiculous captions.

(Note that the Firefox browser often does not display YouTube videos properly; you may need to use a different browser.)