Us getting ready to walk to school for the first time.

Us getting ready to walk to school for the first time.

Today was the first day of school for Jakob and me.  Our school weeks go through Saturday but classes only last for 5 hours and for the first week they only last for 4.  I was really nervous when I walked into the classroom and, of course, the only open seat was the one that was at the very front of the class and was not connected to another seat.  Thankfully, towards the end of the first hour (math) I switched seats with one of the kids on my soccer team and I finally felt like I was part of the class.  The next hour was art and the girl next to me spoke ok English so I had some idea about what was going on.  After art was French. The teacher was actually an experienced linguist, I heard him speak English and Arabic along with French.  He was really nice and his English was very good (even though he had a British accent).  After the third hour, we had a 10 minute break where everybody ate a snack they brought from home and all the kids tried out their English on me by asking questions like “how many brothers or sisters do you have?” or “what is your favorite sport?” etc.  The last hour was Tech Ed and the teacher made all the kids write in English and Italian on the board so I could understand what was going on.  After that the bell rang and school was out.   The first day wasn’t as bad as I thought it was going to be so I’m almost looking forward to tomorrow.